What an Inconvenience Can Do

13 Nov

by Renee Hudson

I’m inconvenienced by the financial crisis
I’m inconvenienced by student debt
I’m inconvenienced by a precarious labor structure that meant I had to live on my sister’s couch until I could earn enough money to rent a place of my own
I’m inconvenienced by the fact that when I look around, I don’t see very many
Or any
Graduate students who look like me
I’m inconvenienced by the fact that my students
Work full-time jobs
Apply for scholarships
And still cannot afford UCLA
I’m inconvenienced by the fact that UCLA cannot retain faculty in my field
I’m inconvenienced by the fact that, because UCLA cannot retain faculty in my field, it will take me longer to finish my PhD
I’m inconvenienced by the fact that, because it will take me longer to finish my PhD, it looks like I’m in for at least an additional year of precarious labor
But I hope that
In “inconveniencing” you
You will see what an inconvenience can do
An inconvenience can shut down one of the busiest intersections in the country
An inconvenience
(with your help)
Can shut down one of the major cities in the country
All of the major cities in the country
(and the little cities, too)
And maybe when
We’ve inconvenienced everybody
You will see
What a little inconvenience
Can do.

One Response to “What an Inconvenience Can Do”

  1. Julia Tomassetti November 13, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    Beautiful and so on point!

Leave a Reply

